Uncategorized

Looking At Trying Something New!

I’m a writer. I’m confindent in my skills in the writing of poetry and prose, fiction and non fiction. But now I’ve been playing with something I’d vever previously thought I would be capable of doing.

I may end up not being good enough at doing anything that can go further with it, but it’s fun trying! Doing new things is good for the brain, and even if it doesn;t do any further, I’ll be helping to keep my brain safe from dementia. I hope so anyway.

And what is this ‘thing’? Two things actually, drawing and colouring in – in fact drawing things and colouring them in. I haven’t done much colouring for years and years, and I’d forgotten how much fun it is, and to actually be colouring in things I drew myself, that feels awesome!

I’m not saying I’m an artist who will be having exhibitions, but I can at least draw things that look like what they are, and that’s a skill to be proud, I think!

Here’s one of my new ‘works’, a self portrait is how I’ve labelled it, but there’s only two things that make it look anything like me, I think. I’ll keep practicing and see how I go!

If anyone has tried doing something new, or that they haven’t done for many, many years, I’d love to hear about it! One of my fears is that I will end up with dementia, like my father did, and be unable to connect with my friends, and my peers. And for me personally, unable to write any more, a horror to me.

And some another of my new drawings:

The second picture is of our dog’s great big ‘pillow’ called a caterpillow. If I remember, I’ll get something better to draw on, a sketching pad of something. I’ve been doing these drawings in my journal, in reso]ponse to the daily prompts I’ve been doing,a nd will continue doing every day, into the beginning of February.

This new drawing thing just popped up, as I was responding to one of the prompts earlier this week, and I’m really loving this aspect. I’ve even been thinking about writing a children’s picture book, and doing my own illustrations! I need to do a lot more practice before then, though!

This has been so much fun, trying out the visual arts for a change, instead of just the writing … Finding the fun things in life is a great idea, I reckon, and this is definitely fun!

Any thoughts about any of this are most welcome!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.