Uncategorized

A Lockdown, Perfect!

Well, a writer lockdown with writer friends is always a time when good writing has happened in the past, for me. We meet up at our favourite hotel, and all write more of our chosen work, perfect!

Plants as inspiration?

I’m writing a novel at the moment, well that’s the idea anyway. But to be honest, I’m doing a lot more thinking about writing this novel, than actually writing it. If I was at a writer lockdown, I’d be inspired by the others, and get more of that novel written, I think.

But this is not a writer related lockdown, it’s a six day lockdown for all of South Australia, to hopefully halt the spread of the Covid virus. This is a totally different thing. But a lockdown is a lockdown, and if I have to spend six days at home, what to do? Well, I can swap that around and actually spend the six days of Covid lockdown that the government has brought on, and do my best to use those six days actually writing this novel!

I can’t go out anywhere much, and my writing group venue will be closed, and even though the group will be holding an online meeting, I won’t have to spend that time in travel, to get there and back. So I tell myself, Hey, get writing Carolyn! I know my main character, and various other characters in that novel would like a bit of action happening. It must be boring for them, stuck inside my head …

So that’s what I’m going to do, I’m going to do my best to use these six days of lockdown, and I’m going to write more of my novel! There, done – and tomorrow, I will do my best to spend at least a couple of hours writing more of the novel, and increase my word count further!

5 thoughts on “A Lockdown, Perfect!”

  1. what you need, Carolyn is a main character with the stature of, say, a Father Brown or Miss Marple or that sleuthing priest in ‘Grantchester’, someone with a big personality and lovable foibles. I just love cozy murder mysteries and want to see this novel or short story collection succeed. What’s the main character’s name by the way. Would love to read some more when you are ready 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My main characterc is Meredith. She works for yhe Talloola Council as the Town Coordinator, a new position that sime in Talloola, including the Mayor, didn’t want at all. The Deputy Mayor though is keener in having this position filled, and is happy to have filled the position quickly, after the original person left town suddenly, leaving Talloola in the lurch, until the found Meredith, who applied for the job, and has bowed to be the best Town Coordinator possible.
      She’s not from town though, and some people aren’t convinced they even need a coordinator for their town.

      I hope that sounds interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. it does. The stage is set for conflict; there’s a mystery why the former coordinator left and why some townsfolk do not want Meredith. Now to imbue her with personality, so she leaves her stamp upon the narrative

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.