Uncategorized

The Deed Not Yet Done, But At Least Begun!

Yes, finally, on this, the final day of the year 2021, I have finally begun the process of putting together my next Anthology. I hope this book may be ready in time to be launched at the 2022 Gawler And Adelaide Plains Festival of Words. But given the fact I haven’t even put the call out yet, who knows whether that will be possible …

But today, I am putting out such a call, asking for submissions of poetry and/or prose, that refers to this anthology, to be titled “Climate, Change, Climate Change”. I require learned pieces on the subject of both Climate and Climate Change, and about the trials and tribulations of going through various changes in life.

I am not an expert in the first two mentioned subjects, but I have certainly had a broad exposure to various aspects of ‘change’. But that first one, ‘Climate’ may be not scientific, but rather a less particular aspect, and referring instead to ‘the climate of a room, when somebody drops a clanger’ for instance …

And really, anyone with any exposure to the news, will surely have some ideas about climate change, what it is, and whether they are or might be affected by it. I remember hearing something recently on the news, about islands being flooded out, causing people to leave their homes, and heading for the mountainous regions, up higher than the invading waters.

Whether a believer or denialist, strongly held ideas, presented interestingly are required to make this anthology everything I hope it can be. So scientist, or lay person, your thoughts and ideas, presented as poetry or prose are needed and any of all of these three subjects.

And if you happen to be an expert in Climate Change, I wold love to hear from you, with the idea of possibly writing the introduction of this new book. And if you aren’t an expert, but know own, an introduction to them about this idea, so they may write said piece would be extremely welcome!

rising waters, or a needed holiday?

What I need

So, I am calling for up to three pieces of poetry and/or prose, with poems to be up to thirty lines, and prose to be up to up to 2,000 words. Because there will be three parts of this anthology – Climate, Change, Climate Change, all with two further sections – Poetry, Prose, I ask the submissions have in the subject of the email the writer’s own belief about what is the most important subject of their piece, it it refers to more than just one of the subjects.

For instance, if you are writing a piece that talks about the way we change governments, based on their attitudes to Climate Change, put whichever is most important, as you see it. When it comes down to it, if I as the editor have a different idea about which is most important, we can have that discussion at a later stage, before the anthology is published.

So I am asking for submissions from now, until early May 2022. Submissions are to be sent to me at kittycordo@gmail.com, and indicate the subject of your piece in your email.